Jump


Britt-Marie Was Here is the second book I have read by Fredrik Backman. He is an incredibly gifted writer with the ability to capture and convey the human spirit in a way I admire.

The novel takes place in a small town in Sweden which is rapidly declining due to a downturn in the economy. Enter Britt-Marie, a middle-aged woman who has left her husband of many years after discovering he was having an affair. She is a persnickety woman with unique mannerisms. She likes everything “just so”. Told in the omniscient voice, we get to know Britt-Marie from the inside-out and her character is flawed and complex. Overly concerned about appearances, Britt-Marie struggles to change the way in which she reacts to others when she takes a position as the manager of a recreation center for three weeks in the remote dying town.

She is a lost soul with obsessive compulsive tendencies trying desperately to reinvent herself amid a group of young adults who love to play and watch football.

There are many interesting characters in this novel. All are well-defined and memorable. There is so much more I could say about the book, but I think it is best to lead you to it rather than to ruin it for anyone. I became emotionally invested in this book to the extent that I felt like I was holding my breath as I read toward the conclusion. It is amazing, and in my opinion, one of the best books I have ever read.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jump

  1. What other book from Backman have you read? I didn’t think I could become more emotional than I did reading A Man Called Ove but I underestimated Backman – My Grandmother etc made me cry so much. What you said about his ability to capture and convey the human spirit really resonates with me – I think that’s it exactly.

    Excited to read Britt-Marie – I have a copy at home I keep meaning to get to.

    • dianeledet says:

      I read A Man Called Ove as well and loved it! What a writer Backman is. I intend to read more of his work. I believe he has a new novel slated for release this year. Can’t wait to read it!

      I appreciate your comment. It makes me happy to hear from followers who have read the same books. 💗

  2. dianeledet says:

    FYI: Backman’s new book, Beartown, will be released this April.

  3. Emily J. says:

    I just finished reading this one last week. It was such a gem!

Leave a Reply

