Play It Again Sam

51aimeqpbgl.jpgOld Records Never Die: One Man’s Quest for His Vinyl and His Past by Eric Spitznagel took me on a lyrical journey down memory lane. This is a memoir about Eric’s search to reconnect with his past by searching through old record stores, garages, and basements in order to reclaim the vinyl records which comprised his former collection.

His story is humorous, and at times sad, but one with a message I could relate to. It came into my hands just after I entertained the thought of parting with the vinyl records I have carted across many miles over the past forty plus years. I seldom play them anymore, but like the author, find comfort in listening to them from time to time. Every time I play them, I feel as though I am sitting down with an old friend with whom I have walked and talked and danced and cried. I couldn’t wait to finish this book in order to pull-out the records I have decided not to sell and listen to them again.

I loved this book. I think you will too.  It comes from the heart of a talented writer.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

