Who’s Your Daddy

51yfcwkoqkl.jpgI have only myself to blame for being disappointed in Oxford Inheritance by Ann A. McDonald. Had I read the cover of this book more carefully, I probably wouldn’t have chosen to read it.

This is a mystery which I enjoyed up until the story took a turn in an unexpected direction. In it, Cassie, an American transfer student, enters Oxford University with the secret intention of gaining information about her deceased mother’s past. Not only does she fulfill her quest, she also discovers deep, dark secrets buried in the college itself.

I went happily along with the suspenseful novel until it turned into a story about black magic and people sucking the life energy out of unwilling victims. What?!

I imagine many people would enjoy this book if they like this type of fiction. Based on my personal preferences, I regretfully report I only liked approximately three-quarters of the book.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’s Your Daddy

  1. Margie says:

    I FEEL YA. Last spring I read Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffennegger. It started strong and fell in along the lines of what I might enjoy reading. A little past halfway it approached the supernatural (okaaay, let’s see where we’re headed…), then devolved into a corny ghost story. Blech! Not for me.

Leave a Reply

