Puffin

51owrgklbnl._sy400_.jpgWhen We Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro is a detective novel published in 2000. This is the third Ishiguro novel I have read and as in his other works, I enjoyed it.

Told in the first-person by a man named Christopher Banks whose parents disappeared in Shanghai one after the other, this story explores Banks’ motivation to devote his life to ridding the world of evil with the belief that it will eventually enable him to discover the whereabouts of his missing parents.

I think this is a sad story. In it, Banks is a lost soul fighting a lost cause. He is surrounded by others who are lost in their own ways; not only people, but a chaotic world as well. This is what I love about Ishiguro’s work. He writes on many levels at once. It makes the reader think about the big picture.

Throughout the novel, I found myself cheering for Banks. How I hoped he would find his parents alive and well. What he ultimately discovers made the novel all the more worthwhile to me. Perhaps you will find it as thought-provoking as I did. I welcome your feedback!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

