Strains of Vienna

51zw22ggs3l._sy400_.jpgThe House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons left me disappointed and I am sorry I wasted time on it.  After reading Solomon’s more recent novel, I vowed to give her work another go. Once again, I sensed seeds of a good writer, but as the novel leapt to its conclusion, I felt let down.

This novel is about a young Jewish girl named Elise whose Austrian family sends her to England prior to World War Two where she is engaged as a servant in a large manor house. The family’s plan of reuniting in America is thwarted by the war and Elise finds herself marooned in England waiting on the manor house inhabitants and their guests. Predictably, she falls in love with the manor house heir.

From that point on, too many events and people in the story made me lose what hope I had in the conclusion of the novel being believable. Perhaps I am a sucker for a happy ending, but this one bordered me on many levels. Elise became someone I didn’t even like and as in Solomon’s subsequent novel, the momentum of the novel disappeared.

So much for Solomon’s work. I am throwing in the towel.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

