Three Ring Circus

a1g8apdynvl._sl1500_.jpgMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs impressed me as a cross between Lost Horizon and Brigadoon with a touch of The Wizard of Oz. I don’t often read young adult books, but every now and then, I peruse the best sellers. A movie version of this book is scheduled for release at the end of September, 2016.

In this fictional story, a sixteen-year-old boy named Jacob is a privileged rich kid with one teenage friend. He has a close relationship with his grandfather who has regaled Jacob with many strange stories. The death of Jacob’s mysterious grandfather sets in motion an adventure beyond belief on an island in Wales where Jacob discovers there is truth behind his late grandfather’s fantastic tales.

As this is a work of fiction, pretty much anything is possible and the author takes full advantage of this creating imaginary characters and monsters endowed with unusual attributes. Jacob becomes the knight in shining armour and rescues the poor peculiar children caught in a time warp. The story doesn’t end happily ever after and is followed by sequels.

I can see why this book was so popular. It is fantasy and many young adults and adults enjoy an escape from reality. I enjoyed the book, but the end confused me. I didn’t understand how the peculiar children crossed-over to modern times without consequence. Perhaps the sequel clarifies what I don’t understand.

It is doubtful I will read the sequel to this book, but I admire creative ideas and books which get kids reading. I do hope however, that these same readers find their way to books like Lost Horizon and the works of L. Frank Baum, which in my mind, are “timeless”!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

