Cherry Blossoms

51fvdupujll._sl1500_.jpgDreaming Spies by Laurie R. King exceeded my expectations. This is my first foray into King’s series of continuing Sherlock Holmes tales and I enjoyed this one immensely.

In this novel we find Holmes married to Mary Russell, a sharp-witted woman in her early twenties. Mary narrates the book much in the way Dr. Watson recounted Doyle’s adventures. Mary and Watson are very different people which made this new tale all the more interesting.

Much of the story takes place in Japan and is so beautifully descriptive that I felt as if I had been transported there. At the heart of plot is a book, a blackmailed future emperor, and bit of Oxford.

This is a well-written novel worthy of being read. Mysteries being what they are, I will say no more!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherry Blossoms

  1. alison41 says:

    I’ve seen BBC productions of further , recently written, tales in the Holmes/Watson saga, but haven’t read any books. This one looks tempting & I’m fascinated by anything Japanese.

  2. dianeledet says:

    I think you will like this book. It made me feel like I was in Japan! It takes place in the 1920’s. No comparison to the newer tv shows – more like Doyle books! I find I prefer the original stories.

Leave a Reply

