And You Are?

51encbbw7bl._sy400_.jpgThe Gilded Life of Matilda Duplaine by Alex Brunkhorst is a novel I discovered in the books on cd section of our library. Published in 2015, I am surprised I never heard of it!

This is a fast-paced story written in the first-person which I found refreshing. So many books I have recently read bounce from one person to the other and I really enjoyed that this book didn’t do that. It was so easy to follow!

In this tale, a young journalist named Thomas moves to Los Angeles to work on the LA Times after being accused of plagiarism while working for the Wall Street Journal in New York. Hoping for a new beginning, he settles in and on one of his first assignments meets and interviews a wealthy daughter of a belated movie mogul
Lilly is well-connected, takes a liking to Thomas, and he is off and running from one star-studded event to another. Before long, he encounters a blonde beauty playing tennis alone on one of the estates and he is instantly love struck. This meeting leads Thomas on a life-changing hunt to discover who she is and how she came to be secretly cloistered on the estate of a famous director.

I enjoyed this noir tinged story very much. It is beautifully descriptive and heart warming. It made me feel happy! I hope you will read it and feel the same way!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And You Are?

  1. Margie says:

    Sounds direct and intriguing. After the last few I’ve read, I’m ready for “heart-warming!”

Leave a Reply

