I Want

41ks7ryjl3l._sy400_.jpgHenderson the Rain King by Saul Bellow was published in 1959 and is another of the Top 150 Novels of the 20th century.

Henderson is a wealthy American pig farmer in his mid-fifties who is discontented with life.  He is a burly, brusque character whose inner voice repeatedly chants “I want …” He is physically strong and habitually acts before he considers the consequences – an impulsive man.

One day, he gets the notion to take a trip to Africa with a newly married couple. He soon realizes he’s a third wheel and takes off with a guide on a journey which will change his perspective on life forever.

This is a novel bathed in ancient knowledge and African beliefs. It is beautifully written.  It made me think of the unanswered questions whispering in my head. I enjoyed it immensely.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Want

  1. alison41 says:

    I remember reading this book very long ago – I took it out from the Bulawayo Public Library, Rhodesia, in the mid-1960s : it was one of my first introductions to Jewish writers, and American contemporary literature. And now here it is again !

Leave a Reply

