I Spell My Name Danger

maltese-falcon-dvd-cover-art.jpgThe Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett has long been one of my favorite movies. The novel by the same name is one of the Top 150 Novels of the 20th century.

This book reads almost verbatim to the movie and I loved it!  There are a couple of differences which I noticed and found interesting. The first is that Sam Spade has an affair with Brigid O’Shaughnessy . The second is that Joel Cairo and the young thug Wilmer are apparently lovers as well. Given the era during which the movie was produced, it’s not surprising that these facts were kept from the theater-going public.

If you haven’t read the book or seen the well-known movie, I highly recommend both. They are classics.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Spell My Name Danger

  1. alison41 says:

    I haven’t read a DH for years. Must remember to hunt one up when next in the Library.

Leave a Reply

