Fact or Fiction

9ce78a8e-151b-11e5-9303-9e656004e6ef.jpgThe Truth According to Us by Annie Barrows made me laugh often because it reminded me of the years I resided in the South and the ability many people there had of colorfully weaving the stories they told. The tales were tall and I usually wondered if my leg was being pulled. Barrows is the co-author of a book I loved entitled The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society which further enticed me to read this novel.

Set in the 1930’s,  a U.S. Senator decides to punish his daughter Layla by disowning her after she refuses to marry the man of his choice; thus putting her on relief. She is given a job working for the WPA and shipped off to a small West Virginia town in need of someone to write a town history. Layla becomes a boarder in the home of a formerly well-to-do Romeyn family down on their luck. They are unaware she is the daughter of a Senator. The Romeyns are an odd assortment of loose-lipped colorful characters with vast knowledge of the town’s buried skeletons, including a number of their own dark secrets.

The book is populated with vivid, believable characters who are easy to connect with emotionally. I thought some parts of this book were unnecessary, but overall,  I think this is a terrific book many people will enjoy. The suspense of discovering the truth behind the many rumors and secrets kept me from being able to put the book down!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fact or Fiction

  1. alison41 says:

    I loved the Guernsey etc. etc. had forgotten it was co-authored by Annie B. Will certainly read her latest, if it comes my way.

Leave a Reply

