Survival

81j3rfxrwml._sl1500_.jpgThe Nightingale by Kristin Hannah tells a sad story about two fictional sisters living in France prior to and during the Nazi occupation in World War II. The sisters are several years apart in age and different in nature. Left motherless and abandoned by their father afterward, both seek love and identities in their own way.

I really liked this book. The characters are believable and the writing is quite good. For me, it was a difficult book to put down. It is highly descriptive of the reality of war, the Nazi occupation of France, and the way in which people of France and especially those of the Jewish faith were persecuted. I had tears in my eyes reading this book. I know I will remember it for a long time to come. I recommend it highly.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Survival

  1. Margie says:

    I NEVER buy books. It’s the library for me. I just paid money to download this one to my iPad to read on vacation!! Since you highly recommended it, I felt it was safe bet!!

    • dianeledet says:

      My numerous book-filled bookcases are proof of my compulsive book buying! Like you however, the library provides most of my books in addition to Penguin Publishers. My keepers come from online purchases of deeply discounted books and library book sales. Have a wonderful holiday and enjoy The Nightingale!

Leave a Reply

