Essence

wpid-81ri1822xjl._sl1500_.jpgLike Family by Paolo Giordano was delivered to my doorstep and read during the month which will mark the my late sister Joan’s 64th birthday. It will be the first since her passing in May of this year. The irony of this is that Giordano wrote this beautiful little book to honor the memory of his child’s former nanny.  For many years, my sister worked in daycare centers where she cared for other people’s children. As I read this book, I couldn’t help but recognize small similarities between Giordano’s nanny and my late sister’s lives. Both were married, but never had children of their own.

I thought also of other women who cared for me and my children during our lives. It is a rare gift to be able to love another woman’s child as deeply as if it were your own. Truly it is a blessing to receive love from a person with such a giving heart.

Giordano’s book is touching and beautiful. I am grateful it came to me when it did. It soothed my soul. The timing could not have been more perfect. There are no mistakes in the universe.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

