Lasting Impression

the-marriage-of-opposites-9781451693591

The Marriage of Opposites is a new novel by one of my favorite authors, Alice Hoffman. This story is based on the family of Camille Pissarro the well-known impressionist artist. The story traces the history of his ancestors and their plight to discover a safe place to live where they would not be persecuted for their faith in Judaism.

Much of the novel focuses on Camille’s mother Rachel, her life, marriages, children, and friends on the small island of Saint Thomas. As this book is historical fiction, a large amount of it is based on known facts; facts which I found very interesting.  There is a degree of commonality in the struggles of the Jewish people and African slaves who lived and worked on the island.

I enjoyed the novel and am amazed as always by Hoffman’s ability to create a believable story based on historical people and events. I was moved by it. Beautiful prose Alice!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lasting Impression

  1. alison41 says:

    Sounds interesting. I’ve read one or two of her novels. But my TBR pile grows & grows. I think my New Year’s Resolution ought to be: Do not buy any more books. Yes – well … no! fine ! highly unlikely.

  2. dianeledet says:

    I am trying to listen to one book on cd and read another. It seems to be helping me make some headway! I find it easier on the eyes and relaxing. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

