Dedicated to the One I Love

wpid-mixtape240-08da54d189f7f94e3279235f0c21ef2faae1e6fb-s800-c15.jpgLove is a Mix Tape by Rob Sheffield was a timely read for me and a good memoir.  Little did I know when I chose the book on tape from the library it would be prophetic in a very sad, strange way.  Not long after I began listening to this touching love story written by a Rolling Stone writer, my oldest sister Joan passed away suddenly.

While this is a memoir written by a grieving widower who lost his young wife Renee five years into their marriage, so much of this book was relatable as I lost my sister suddenly as well.

Using mix tapes made and shared with his wife prior to her passing, Sheffield replays memories of days and cherished feelings gone by as expressed in song.

I think this is a wonderful tribute to Renee written with great love. It came to me without my knowing I was about to experience my own personal loss. It helped me understand my brother-in-law’s grief. There are no mistakes in the universe. Rest in peace Renee. Rest in peace my dear sister.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

