Passion

wpid-57266290.jpgClaude and Camille: a novel of Monet, is a love story by Stephanie Cowell. This is a beautifully written novel about Monet and his passion not only for his art, but for his wife and muse, Camille.

I have many books on Impressionist art, which I love, but little on the private lives of the artists. This book whet my appetite for more. Oh, to have lived those days in Paris, to have been a part of this new art form, to have rubbed elbows with Manet, Renoir, Cezanne, Pissarro!  I would have loved it!

My son visited Giverny last year. Ironically, a light rain fell that day, but his photos of the garden are just as described in this novel.

http://thebachelorbasics.com/paris/a-day-with-monet/

Through this book, I learned so much about Monet; interesting facts about his life, his struggles, and his poverty. Perhaps many artists of all mediums can relate to what it takes to give themselves over to their art because it is their destiny. How fortunate we are that Monet had Camille, a woman who believed in and encouraged him through thick and thin. I loved this story nearly as much as I love Monet’s paintings.

 

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Passion

  1. Barb Dietrich says:

    Diane, Thank you for mentioning this book. I am adding it to my pile of TBR and putting it near the top, for after Lust for Life (I guess I am back to art novels). I saw an amazing art exhibit in London this spring that featured Monet and I loved it so much that I am going back to see the same exhibit in Philadelphia this summer, then a exhibit of flowers in Richmond, VA with both Monet and van Gogh. Monet moves me, calms me, excites me and always makes me smile. What more could I ask?

Leave a Reply

