Evergreen

lookI thought The Look of Love by Sarah Jio would be a holiday story because Jane, the main character, was born on Christmas Day, but it turned out to be something completely different. What it is, is a fictional novel about a 29-year-old woman who learns the strange migraines she has experienced for most of her life are more than migraines; they are a side-effect of her ability to “see” love.

I had high hopes for this novel, but found it to be just too strange and depressing. I thought the story was over populated and thought the many characters were underdeveloped.  I was told more than I was shown. This is my first foray into Jio’s work and I really did not know what to expect.  This is chic lit and not my personal genre of choice.  I imagine others who like this type of work will enjoy the book.  The end of the story was a bit redeeming, but all in all, I hoped for more than it delivered.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

