Side Show

girlWhen I agreed to review Savage Girl by Jean Zimmerman for Penguin Publishing, I mistakenly thought the author had written another book I was about to read.  Boy was I ever surprised when the book arrived and I realized my error!  This book is a work of fiction which I fully expected to be one I’d never choose to read.  It turned-out to be one I could not tear myself away from.

The story is about a wealthy family who, while visiting a small town in Nevada in the late 19th century, encounter a feral girl on display in a seedy sideshow.  The well-meaning parents decide to do whatever they can to take her back to New York City where they believe they can help her to regain the life she might have had if circumstances had been different. Long story short, they take the wild girl home with them and like Pygmalion, proceed to groom her eventual entry into society.  There are however, a few big problems. The son of the wealthy family falls in love with the feral girl.  He has mental problems of his own and little by little, as mutilated bodies begin stacking-up wherever the girl goes, he begins to wonder if he or the feral girl is committing the murders.

Is the feral girl a villain or a victim? Is he a murderer? You’ll need to read this engrossing tale to discover the truth!  I thought it was so well done!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

