Silver Bow Belles

If you can get your hands on a remaining copy, The Sisters by Myron Brinig is a book sistersworth reading. Published in 1937, and made into a movie by the same name, this wonderful novel is about three attractive sisters who grew up in a small town in Montana during the early 20th century. Their father is a pharmacist and mother, a housewife. Together, they live in a small apartment over the drugstore.

The story is told by a young man who knew the family as a boy after an unexpected visit with the sisters many years later. Even though they are cut from the same cloth, the Elliott sisters are different individuals. They are strong women whose lives take dissimilar paths.

This is a wonderful book which captures more than the story of three lives; it immortalizes the life of a country at the turn of the century planting and expanding its roots in the soil of a growing nation. I hope you will be able to read it and enjoy it as much as I did.  Oh how I love resurrecting old books!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silver Bow Belles

  1. Happy to find your blog! While my own writing focus is largely on food, I’ve started offering fiction and nonfiction book giveaways. In crafting reviews, I am happy to learn from folks who have been at this longer than I! 🙂

    • dianeledet says:

      I love your blog! So glad you found mine! If it is helpful to you in some way then I am delighted. Always happy to provide guidance when needed! Good luck!

  2. Thanks, I ordered The Sisters through my library. That’s why I follow you–for these unusual forgotten book suggestions. I look forward to reading it.

    • dianeledet says:

      I am glad you enjoy the old books as much as do! This is a long one, almost 600 pages. If you have seen the movie, you will note the book is so much better! Please share your thoughts after reading this if possible. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

