Scavenger Hunt

ImageThree Lives of Tomomi Ishikawa by Ben Constable is a strange novel.  From the first page I felt captured in a tale.  It is so unlike any I’d ever read.   The further I got into the book, the more I felt like I was trying to pull the zipper up on a dress that’s too tight.  The further I read, the more I felt like I was choking.

The story is written by Ben Constable about his friend whose nickname was Butterfly. Both live in Paris, but much of the story takes place in New York City where Ben finds himself following mysterious clues left by Butterfly after she takes her own life. Butterfly has left a series of notebooks which are filled with stories about her ‘secret’ life.  The mystery about this story is whether Butterfly is in fact dead. As Ben and his imaginary cat uncover the late Butterfly’s hidden journals in NYC, he doesn’t know whether or not to believe the horrific truths contained within.

This really is a clever plot.  Also, a great one for book discussion groups!  There is much to be talked about and plenty of fodder for reflection after reading.  Now that I’ve finished reading the book, I’m not sure what to think.  What I do know is, I could not put it down.

If any of my followers have read this book, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scavenger Hunt

  1. Grace says:

    I’ve seen a couple reviews for this, although I haven’t read it. Even the cover seems to speak to the unusual qualities of the book. Based on your description, it sounds like something I’d enjoy. I’m a sucker for unreliable narrators.

  2. dianeledet says:

    Hi Grace, Thanks for your vote of confidence! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this book after you’ve read it. It is a strange story, but I did like it! I hope you do as well.

Leave a Reply

