In Another Life

My Education by Susan Choi caught me off-guard to say the very least.  The dust Imagejacket description of this book didn’t provide me with enough clues to prepare myself for the debaucheries which awaited me.  Whew!  This is a steamy book!

The fictional novel is about a young woman in graduate school who is smitten with one of her male professors.  This to many readers is nothing new.  What is new, is the totally unexpected turn the novel takes during a dinner party at the professor’s home.  From thereon out, the story really gets surprising.

Overall, this story is about people who have lost their way and youthful sexual experimentation. I hesitate to say more other than you just have to let this book unfold.  Giving too much of it away would ruin it for future readers. I will say that Choi is very good at characterization and her vocabulary is amazing. This book is a bit too racy for my personal taste, but I do think it is worth reading if only for the pearls of wisdom about life which can be gleaned from it.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

