Siempre

The Lemon Orchard by Luanne Rice is a recent fictional novel about a woman named JuliaImage whose teenage daughter committed suicide 5 years earlier.  When Julia goes to Malibu to house sit for her uncle, she meets an illegal Mexican man with a similar tragedy who manages the lemon orchard.  Five years earlier, he lost his young daughter while trying to cross the desert from Mexico into the U.S.

This is a summer romance novel/mystery.  I didn’t buy the fiery romance between the Julia and Roberto, the illegal immigrant manager of her uncle’s lemon orchard.  Grief does draw people together in strange ways, but something about this pairing didn’t sit right with me.  The romance was hot and heavy too fast for my liking between people from vastly different worlds.  It wasn’t prejudice, just realism on my part.

The story shifts from one character to another in the book. At times, I found it tedious. The story ends on a bittersweet note. I wish I would have found it more enjoyable.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Siempre

  1. Grace says:

    I found myself annoyed by the ending, because I felt like it reinforced stereotypes rather than working against them. Perhaps I expected too much, but I wanted to see a story where two characters from different worlds could have a meaningful relationship. This kind of fell flat, and I felt like neither party was truly committed.

    • dianeledet says:

      I was disappointed all the way around with this book. The ending did leave me with the impression that the main characters would continue their relationship in the future, but still, I didn’t buy the whole romance. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

