Plotting Revenge

The Burning Air by Erin Kelly took my breath away! This is a book full of twists andburn turns which took me completely by surprise!  This thriller is about an adolescent boy who lives alone with his agoraphobic/anorexic mother in suburban England.  The mother’s sole goal in life is to see her son admitted to a prestigious school. When her plans go awry, her son takes matters into his own hands.

I have one minor criticism of this gripping novel.  I was a good way into the book before I realized the main character, Darcy, was a male.  The author mentioned at one point in the story that the child and mother were able to wear each other’s clothes, so I assumed the child was a female.  Was I surprised to discover that Darcy was a boy!  I’ve never had this happen before and it threw me for a loop.  After adjusting my perception of the main character, I could not put the book down until I finished it.

I don’t want to give too much of the plot away because I really think it will ruin the many surprises for my readers.  Let it suffice to say, this is a really good thriller about family secrets, the lengths people will go to protect their loved ones, and twisted minds unable to perceive the difference between reality and fiction.

www.erinkelly.co.uk

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Plotting Revenge

  1. Harvee says:

    I loved this book too. and I had the same problem, ha, ha. I thought Darcy was a female all along till later in the book. Right at the point when he revealed his new name, after his makeover….I thought, What! A change of sex? The laugh was on me. Terrific novel.

  2. dianeledet says:

    Ha ha….that is what I thought as well! A sex change! Glad I’m not alone. I appreciate your note!!! I agree, it is a good book.

  3. cathiebp2 says:

    Thanks for the intro to read this book! I enjoyed this psychological thriller. I hadn’t read too much into what the story. I hadn’t realized it was about child abduction! But I must’ve somehow forgot about the confusion about Darcy as I too was under the impression in the first half of the book Darcy was a daughter. Then came “call me _____”. From there I kept on going.

    I will defintely have to read her other novels, I am impressed!

  4. dianeledetd says:

    So glad you enjoyed the book Cathie! It is not something I’d ordinarily read, but I’m glad I did! Thank you for following my blog!

Leave a Reply

