Hush

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by        Susan Cain is my new favorite book.  I’ll go out on a limb by saying I think the majority of the followers of this blog will appreciate this book.

I am an introvert who appreciates quiet, introspective thinking, and working alone.  Loud noise annoys me and stillness inspires me.  If you are an introvert too, this book will help you find ways in which you can survive more peacefully in a world which is extrovert driven.

This well researched book is full of useful information about introverts and extroverts.  One gem in it that I particularly loved is the fact that “multitasking”, an overused buzz word, is a fallacy.  The brain in incapable of multitasking.  To the people who write help wanted ads seeking “multitasking” employees who can achieve the impossible I say, “So there!”  It can’t be done! (read page 85 of this book for further clarification.)

I loved Quiet because Cain wrote the book in layman’s terms making it easy to understand.  I feel happier for having read it and I think you will too!

http://www.thepowerofintroverts.com/

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hush

  1. Erin Harris says:

    Great post–reminded me that I’ve been meaning to get this book. Saw Susan’s Ted Talk a while back and loved everything she said.

  2. letizia says:

    Am definitely going to read this, thanks for recommending it! I’ve always considered myself a solitary extrovert so will be curious to see where I fit into Cain’s discussion. Love quiet moments too 🙂

Leave a Reply

