My Corset is Killing Me

Sadly, I was disappointed with The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty.  The review I read prior to reading the book led me to believe this book would be amazing.  I think it was just ok.

The fictional story begins in the early 1900’s and centers on a young woman, Louise Brooks (who existed in real life), and an uptight female chaperone who take a trip to New York together on a train.

The problem I had with this book is that I felt like the author tried too hard to include as many historical facts in the book as possible.  In one chapter, I was too strongly reminded of scenes from the movie Funny Girl while reading the author’s descriptions of the Ziegfeld Follies and it bothered me.

I don’t want to ruin this book for anyone who may want to read it.  There were several twists in the story that didn’t sit well with me personally.  And there are too many shocking revelations in this book for me.

After reading the book, I wasn’t sure what the main theme was as there were so many to choose from. Normally I would have stopped reading after fifty pages, but the writing is good and I wanted to finish the book in order to give it a chance to redeem itself.  I am sorry to say, I just didn’t like it that much and felt it was too long. It screams future Hallmark channel movie to me.

If any of my readers have read this book, I welcome your views.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

