Mail Order Brides

The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka is unlike any other book I have ever read.      I think that is what I like most about Otsuka’s work.  She has a unique voice and a very good one at that!  I love the way she conveys her character’s thoughts to make a point.

After reading When the Emperor was Divine I decided to read this book as well.  Both are short books with powerful prose.  This book takes a step further back in time when many Japanese women came to the U.S. as mail order brides prior to WWII in search of a better life.

I liked this book very much and recommend it as a companion to When the Emperor was Divine.  Read this book first though.  It was written later than When the Emperor was Divine, but chronologically the story here happens first.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mail Order Brides

  1. Margie says:

    Glad YOU liked it; I found the information fascinating, but the style tedious. I would have enjoyed it far more, if rather than ONLY a collective voice was used, it would’ve additionally focused on the stories of a few individual women. That would have engaged me in a more personalized way.

    • dianeledet says:

      Hi Margie. Thanks for your comment. I most certainly understand your reaction to the writing style. I admit I was feeling that way for a while too. Then, I got to thinking of how unusual the style was and looked at it from a perspective of “experimental” creative writing. That turned the tide for me. I did prefer the writing style of When the Emperor Was Divine and the narrower point of view as well. Your feedback is much appreciated.

  2. Homepage says:

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog via Google, and discovered that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful in the event you continue this in future. Numerous individuals will probably be benefited from your writing. Cheers! 677863

  3. Thank you for another excellent post. The place else could anybody get that kind of info in such an ideal manner of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the search for such information.

Leave a Reply

