Twig Girl

About a week ago, I received a Facebook message from Rasana Atreya, the author of Tell a Thousand Lies, asking me if I would review her novel.  It was a first for me and I gladly accepted.  This is Atreya’s debut novel and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

The story is about a young girl in India named Pullamma who lives with her older sister, her twin sister, and widowed Grandmother.  The family lives a meager existence in a small village.  As the story opens, the grandmother, Ammamma, is arranging a marriage for her oldest granddaughter.  As fate would have it, the bride viewing is interrupted by an occurrence which changes the course Pullamma’s life forever.

What I really liked about this book is that the author did a wonderful job of writing it in a way which helped me to connect emotionally with the characters in the story.  Every day, I  could not wait to open my Kindle to continue reading the book.  I also like the fact that I learned a great deal more about a culture I am only somewhat familiar with.  Prior to reading this story, I was unaware that skin color made any difference in India.  Truly, this story opened my eyes and I am grateful to have read it.

Thank you Rasana for sharing your literary talent with me and the followers of Bookwinked!  I will look forward to reading your future novels.

http://www.amazon.com/Tell-Thousand-Lies-Rasana-Atreya/dp/1466340371/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1336237743&sr=8-2

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

