Sewing Lessons

Don’t Sing at the Table: Life Lessons From My Grandmothers by                Adiana Trigiani has been on my list of books to read for a long time. The last book I read prompted me to move this book to the top of my list.  The title of this book is what caught my attention in the first place because I heard the expression “don’t sing at the table, you’ll marry a crazy husband” countless times in my youth.  Trigiani’s relatives had a slightly different version, but basically, it meant the same thing.

I found this biography to be a well-written, thoughtful, loving tribute to Trigiani’s Italian grandmothers.  Their wisdom, faith and work ethics are shared with a dash of humor.  I particularly enjoyed the latter part of the book which imparted their views on relationships.  What they believed made a lot of sense to me.

You don’t need to be Italian to appreciate this story.  Trigiani’s grandmothers were seamstresses, as was my grandmother, providing me an added affinity for their stories. I plan to send a copy of the book to my mother and my daughter knowing they will enjoy it as much as I did.

Don’t Sing at the Table was recently nominated for a 2012 Audie Award.  Trigiani’s most recent novel, The Shoemaker’s Wife, is on the NY Times Bestseller list.  I’m looking forward to reading it.

If you’d like to know more about Trigiani’s work, here is a link to her website:  http://www.adrianatrigiani.com/home

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Lessons

  1. Barb Dietrich says:

    OK, 5 minutes looking thru the list, picking and chosing which to read and my TBR list grows by 5! I had one of the italian seamstress grandmother’s and a barber grandfather whose fig trees and tomatoes were a major part of every Sunday afternoon, after changing out of Church clothes and before grating the parmesean for 16 for lunch, just the immediate family!

Leave a Reply

