This Is How It Was…

My Russian Grandmother and Her American Vacuum Cleaner by Meir Shalev caught my attention when I noticed it on a friend’s Goodreads list.  Am I glad it did!

The memoir is written by a man who was born in Nahalal, Isreal in 1948.  I loved the delightful story about Shalev’s grandmother Tonia, a Russian immigrant who marched to the beat of a different drummer.  Obsessive cleanliness ranked high on her list of priorities, and the telling of her life on a moshav and the vacuum from America is very funny and loving.  I think the story is one most can relate to as it is about familial relationships and the embellishments which accompany the stories told by relatives about each other.

Read this book.  I highly recommend it.  It is wonderful!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This Is How It Was…

  1. harvee says:

    An amusing and title and memoir, it sounds like, full of family anecdotes. A book I’d someday like to read…

  2. dianeledet says:

    Thank you for your comment! I really enjoyed this book. Let me know what you think when you do get to it!

  3. kathleenvincenz says:

    I just ordered it at the library. It sounds great. That’s why I follow your blog.

  4. Sounds like a fun read. I just requested This Is How It Was from the library. Thanks for your post!
    Beth 🙂

  5. Edd Writer says:

    One of the most promising stories for the past week. I had too a grandma obsessed with cleaning.

    • dianeledet says:

      Thank you for your comment. It is a wonderful book. Perhaps we are all OCD in one form or another! I’m obsessive about reading! : ) My house, certainly not as clean as the author’s grandmothers!

Leave a Reply

