Window to the Soul

How different a coming of age story is when written in 1908 as opposed to 2012. In my quest to read the Top 150 Novels, I read A Room with a View by E.M.Forster.  Forster authored a number of well-known books; many were made into movies.

The first part of this book felt like a tightly bound corset and I fought my inclination to put the book down.  However, the second half of the book was more relaxed and I began to love the story.  I think this book is one I would like to have dissected when I studied Literature in college.  Clearly, Forster is a master of literary technique. After I began to view the story in an academic perspective, it unfolded like a beautiful flower.

The novel revolves around the main character Lucy, who seeks a way to exert her independence and to express her feelings in a time when women were seen merely as the fairer sex.  Throughout the novel, the author uses supporting characters to reinforce the strict social dictums of the era.  This is also a love story where an unsolicited kiss wreaks havoc in a young girl’s life and the Italian countryside and culture infuse tourists with devil-may-care attitudes.

There is much to be appreciated in this novel and I’m glad I stuck with it.  I grew to love it.  The writing is superb.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Window to the Soul

  1. Cory Gephart says:

    I see something genuinely interesting about your blog so I saved to fav.

Leave a Reply

