Dash It

My new Kindle has a great feature which allows you to sample various books prior to purchasing them.  I am taking advantage of this valuable service as often as possible, because I dislike wasting time reading a book that ultimately doesn’t wow me.  Unfortunately, the sample of White Truffles in Winter by N.M. Kelby fooled me.

The fictional novel is based on the life of a real chef named Auguste Escoffier, a famous French chef.    As many of my readers know, I am drawn to just about anything French, so I requested this book from our library and looked forward to reading the rest of the story.  The love triangle involving the famous actress Sarah Bernhardt, Delphine Daffis (Escoffier’s wife), and Escoffier piqued my interest as well.

After sifting through 100 plus pages of this book looking for a “pearl in the oyster”, I am sorry to share my deep disappointment that I was unable to dig any deeper.  I found the story too heavily leaden with recipes and too light on story line.  Historical references and names abound which confused me and did not strike a chord in me.

I’d still like to know how this book ends.  If any of my readers make it to the final page, please let me know.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

