Masada

I just finished reading The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman and realized I’d been holding my breath.  What a phenomenal story!  It is one not to be missed.

I have heard the story of Masada many times over the course of my life, yet I never knew much about it.  What I do remember is sketchy at best.  Thanks to this historical fiction book, I now have a much clearer understanding of what transpired prior to and during the Roman siege of Masada.

Told in several strong female voices, the story is fascinating. The only difficulty I had while reading it was discerning whose voice was telling the story until I figured it out a few pages into the new section of the book.  That was annoying to me, but the story was so mesmerizing, I forged ahead even when I felt lost.  There are a number of central characters in the book whose lives are intertwined and I got confused from time to time, but Hoffman planted enough clues that ultimately, I did not remain lost for long.

I wholeheartedly recommend this book as a must read.  Well done Alice Hoffman!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Masada

  1. I just love to read new topics from you blog.-;*~`

Leave a Reply

