In the Beginning

After years of procrastination, I’ve finally read Michelangelo & the Pope’s Ceiling by Ross King. As the title indicates, this book is a history of the great Michelangelo and the painting of the Sistine Chapel in Rome during the early 1500’s. What I loved about this book is that not only does the author paint a picture of the task itself, but he also includes a fascinating history of the times.  This informative book offers an enlightening view of the hierarchy of the Roman Catholic Church during turbulent years in Italy when the country was a disconnected group of warring factions with many foreign invaders.

I read part of the book, and then listened to it in entirety on tape.  The experience was wonderful and I enjoyed hearing the beautiful Italian words and names so much more than if I had read them

I learned a great deal about the history of my faith and gained a greater understanding of the art of fresco painting, and the monumental task accomplished by Michelangelo and his apprentices.  Ironically, The Sistine Chapel was a commission Michelangelo was not inclined to take on.  He viewed himself first and foremost as a sculpture.  I can imagine what a great loss it would have been had he not been the one chosen for the job.  I recommend this book to art lovers and historians whom I believe will love it as much as I did.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the Beginning

Leave a Reply

