Lost Souls

The Third Angel is the first book I’ve read by Alice Hoffman.  She has a number of books to her credit, and after reading this book, I think I will look more closely at her body of work.  The reason I read this book is because it was one of the books Nina Sankovitch read while writing Tolstoy and the Purple Chair.  The book sounded interesting and was more engrossing than expected.

This story takes place in several time periods and has a number of main characters and a ghost who, of course, are connected in unexpected ways.  I liked the book and found it to be cleverly crafted.  The concept of “three angels” piqued my curiosity.  After reading the author’s explanation of the three angels, it made sense to me.  This is a book which made me think about the meaning of life and the roles we play in the lives of others.  It is a universal theme, but now and then, a good one to reflect upon.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

