Revolution

Mulberry Child by Jian Ping is the moving memoir of a young girl’s experiences during the Cultural Revolution in China during the 1960’s.  I have read other books about this time of upheaval, but this book, written on such a personal level and from the view-point of an innocent child whose parents were persecuted during this time, touched me deeply.  I find books about this time period in China to be of great interest as they help me to more fully appreciate the freedoms I have as a member of a democratic society.

At present, Jian Ping lives in Chicago with her husband and daughter.  I am so happy that she is now free to live her life as she sees fit and am grateful she has chosen to share her story with the rest of the world.

12/6/11, IMPORTANT UPDATE FROM JIAN PING:  “For your information, Mulberry Child movie, a feature-length documentary based on my book, has been completed. It had its world premiere at the Heartland Film Festival in Indianapolis in October, to a sold out screening and a standing ovation from the audience. The film is coming to Chicago at the Siskel Film Center in January, 2012, part of the documentary film series. The screenings will be at 8 P.M., Jan. 21, Jan. 24, and Jan. 26. It’s directed by award-winning director Susan Morgan Cooper and narrated by Jacqueline Bisset. The film expands from my book to include my life with my daughter, Lisa,in Chicago. We (Susan, Lisa and I) will be at the Q & A after each screening.”

www.mulberrychildmovie.com

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

