Boys to Men

A Separate Peace by John Knowles is one of the best books I have ever read.                   I am certain its message will remain with me for a very long time.  As I was reading the book, I found I could not stop thinking about it.  This first person narrative is told by a man returning to the private high school he attended fifteen years after he graduated in 1943.  In it, he tells of the relationship he had with his closet friend and classmates.  It is a deeply enlightening look at the last remaining year of youthful freedom from the perspective of a boy about to enter WWII.

After finishing the book tonight, I realized that my father would have been the same age as the narrator and wished my father were still alive so that I might ask him how he felt during his Senior year in high school before he enlisted in the Air Force. I also wished I’d read this book during my Senior year in high school when the Vietnam War was close to its end and young men I knew weighed their futures by their draft numbers.

I am overcome with the words and thoughts in this book and highly recommend it.  It is poetry for the mind and soul.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

