A Thankful Heart

Oh how I love the work of Charles Dickens! After watching the Muppet version of A Christmas Carol, I decided to read the book this year to revive my sagging Christmas spirit.  Every holiday season I watch the movie and listen to my cassette tape from the Muppet version of this story, but I am so very happy to have read the book.  I think I will make reading it a new Christmas tradition.

Charles Dickens wrote so many incredible stories and I have loved every one I have ever read.  This one though, carries such a clear message of how we might choose to live our lives that it touched me on a deep, abiding level.  At one point in the story, Scrooge is allowed to see visions of two children.  The Ghost of Christmas Present tells Scrooge, “The boy is Ignorance.  The girl is Want.  Beware them both, and all of their degree, but most of all beware this boy, for on his brow I see that written which is Doom, unless the writing be erased.”  How prophetic these words of Dickens are.  Ignorance is not necessarily bliss.  Dickens knew that in 1843 when he wrote this story.

I would liked to have known Dickens.  What a great writer he was.  How timeless are his stories.  I hope the message of this story will remain with me long after I have packed my Christmas decorations away and all the feasting and celebrating has dimmed and the world around me becomes silent once again.  Our former pastor used to say, “Live Christmas every day.”  How right he and Charles Dickens are.

 

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

