Well Worth It

You may have a difficult time securing a copy of Roughly Speaking, but do try as it will be well worth your effort.  Written in 1943 by Louise Randall Pierson, the non-fiction account of Louise’s life is heartwarming.  She was an amazing woman well ahead of her time.  The book is quite humorous and provides an optimistic point of view from someone who lived through numerous trials and tribulations such as the Great Depression and the Stock Market Crash.  Mrs. Pierson is another woman I wish I’d been able to meet.  Reading her story, I felt connected to her.  She was a single parent for a time and always had high hopes for her five children. Mrs. Randall never let life get the best of her and never gave up trying.  Though not always successful, her money-making schemes were plentiful.  She was an inspiration to those around her and the epitome of someone who took the lemons life handed her and made lemonade.  If you can’t obtain the book, do see the movie it inspired with Rosalind Russell. It is almost as good as the book.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well Worth It

  1. I am about halfway through this book. It is a riot. I can’t believe the article she wrote about banking. BTW, the movie is playing on TCM on January 2 at 10:00 a.m. ET. You can have TCM send you a reminder.

  2. Diane says:

    So glad you are enjoying this book Kathy. I thank you also for the heads-up on the TCM showing of it in January. If I don’t have it recorded already, I’ll do so. It is one of my favorites! Pierson was quite a woman!

  3. I watched the movie but sorry to say didn’t like it that much. I didn’t think they captured how hard the family worked and I didn’t think Jack Carson as Louise’s second husband had enough charm and spirit. Of course, I loved the book so much and that usually means that the movie will disappoint. Did you know the oldest son won an Academy Award for Dog Day Afternoon? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frank_Pierson Thanks for all your book suggestions.

  4. dianeledet says:

    Hi Kathy,

    Thanks for your research on Frank Pierson! I did not know of his many accomplishments. How fascinating! I found an inexpensive copy of the book on the web today and purchased it as I’d like to read it again. It’s a keeper.

Leave a Reply

