Old Friends

The library called today to let me know a book I’d requested had arrived. I was so excited! I don’t know if this ever happens to you, but I imagine it does. Quite often, I watch black and white movies from the 30’s and 40’s.   I love them almost as much as I love old books.  Many of these books, which provided the basis for the movies, are ones I can’t resist reading provided they are obtainable.

Our library has a wonderful variety of old movies on DVD and I watched one recently which so moved me that I went in search of the book upon which it was based. The book that came in today as an inter-library loan from Blackburn College, located who knows where, thrilled me no end. The movie was called Make Way For Tomorrow, but the book upon which it was based, is called Years Are So Long by Josephine Lawrence. It was published in 1934.

Earlier this afternoon, I stood impatiently in line at the library checkout waiting for my turn.  I could not wait to get my hands on the withered brown book with a time-worn cover, threadbare spine, and yellowed pages.  I could still feel the hourglass etched on the outside front cover.  As the staff lady scanned my library card, I could not keep myself from opening the book and I began reading the first page.  According to the ‘Date Due’ slip affixed to the inside cover; the last time the book was checked out was April 3, 1947.  Think of that!  1947, only two years after World War II ended.  It made me wonder who it was that read this book last and where they are now.  It blows my mind to think the book has been sitting on a library shelf, in a college I’ve never heard of, collecting dust and waiting for me to open it again.

I will take a departure from my trip to France tonight as I believe 63 years is long enough to wait.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

