Point of View

Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932 by Francine Prose is historical fictionlovers about a group of people living in Paris prior to, during, and after World War II.   It took me a long time to read this 400+ page book.  The story is told through the eyes of a Hungarian artist, a baroness, a lesbian Nazi sympathizer, and an American born writer.  Hence, the title of this review!  The ever-changing points of view in this story caused me to take my time reading the novel.

The story is engrossing and once I got into it, I really liked it right up until the end, when the author lost me completely.  I am not one who enjoys trying to figure things out when I’m reading a book.  I like the endings to be completely clear and I totally didn’t get the very end of this book. I reread the last two chapters thinking perhaps I missed something, but still felt as if the author switched train tracks and left me hanging.  While I understand there are deeper implications about life and love in this book, I found parts of it repetitive and noticed some “guns” introduced which were “never fired”.

Still, I would recommend this book to those who are interested in and enjoy World War II stories.  Much of what I read struck me as believable.  I only wish the ending had not baffled me so.  If any of my followers have or will read this book, please share your feedback with me.  I’m find I am at a loss after long hours spent reading it.

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Point of View

  1. Emily C says:

    I heard the author interviewed on NPR and it sounded interesting. But like you, I do like to be able to follow along with the author rather than be confused and left behind. I also love books about and around WWII but it seems to be very popular right now so I am getting a little weary of it. This review made my decision to meander to other books first. Thank you!

  2. dianeledet says:

    It was pretty good up until the ball drop of an ending. Am reading The monuments men now, quite good so far. Have you read it yet?

  3. alison41 says:

    I was going to try & find a copy of the book, but doubt it will appear in our bookstores. Having read your comments, think I’ll leave it aside. I also dislike books that leave me perplexed right at the end.

Leave a Reply

