With Pen in Hand

Dear Nina Sankovtich,signed

After spending yesterday reading your new book Signed, Sealed, Delivered, I am writing to convey my gratitude for the pleasure I experienced while doing so. Your words, and those of so many others shared in the book, reminded me of similar correspondences of my own and prompted me to revisit my memory bin.

Like you, when my children left home for college, I sent them inspirational cards on a regular basis from which I hope they felt the love with which they were sent. I still have a letter tucked away from my younger brother in response to a letter I sent him while he was studying at Notre Dame. Nestled in the same place is a small note card written in 1965 with inspirational advice offered by my mother during her religious retreat when I was a young girl. I cherish a note my father sent along with a helpful check when times were tough for me. There are postcards, get well cards, Mother’s day cards, valentines, and birthday wishes from the many people who have touched my life as well. Although many of these friends are no longer physically present, these eternal connections remain. There are even a few old love letters reminding me of youthful passions which leave me wondering whether or not any of mine survived.

Recently, a friend from high school questioned the fact that I still have a note she mailed me when we were classmates in the 70′s.  I found it and posted it to Facebook today!

I am recommending your book to Bookwinked followers with heartfelt thanks and wishes for the continued success of your fine work.

With sincere regards,

Diane Ledet

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to With Pen in Hand

  1. Margie says:

    Your book review is clever, your smile still pretty.
    Thought I would pause and write you this ditty.
    I agree! Nothing beats good old pen (pencil!) on paper correspondence. It’s something to have and to hold!

  2. Dear Diane, Thank you for your lovely letter/review! We are so lucky to have our letters still, a true treasure, for now and for some lucky discoverer in the future!
    Nina

Leave a Reply

