Mindfulness

Mastermind:  How to think like Sherlock Holmes by Maria Konnikova could noholmest have come at a better time for me.  I’ve recently been subjected to brain MRI’s, subsequently drawing on stored knowledge of the workings of the brain gleaned from a class I took in college.  Unlike master detective Sherlock Holmes, I did not retain as much as I would have hoped!  This insightful book however, provided me with many helpful clues, which if repeatedly employed, will lead me to thinking differently in the future.

Konnikova has very successfully married her vast knowledge of Sherlock Holmes stories with her PhD in psychology to create an engaging, thoughtful analysis of the ways in which the reader might learn to think more clearly and engage more fully in the Holmsian thought process.

Truly, our brains are amazing if we only learn from books like this to get out of our own way and use them to their peak ability.  If you like Sherlock Holmes, you will love this book!  While reading it, I also downloaded the complete collection of Holmes stories from Amazon for my Kindle!  I know what I’ll be reading next year.

Current PBS show:  http://schedule.wttw.com/series/20174/How-Sherlock-Changed-The-World/

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mindfulness

Leave a Reply

