Shackles

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt is a superb novel.  I am so grateful to have been able to donna-tartt-the-goldfinch-book-coverdevote 32 hours to listen to it on compact disc.  The audio version is amazing!

This incredible, thought-provoking story is about a thirteen-year-old boy named Theo Decker who is in an art museum in NYC with his divorced mother when a bomb goes off.  From there, the story follows the boy and the life-altering changes which subsequently ensue. The characters in the novel are so vivid.  I was just blown away!

Created by Fabritius in the 17th century, the painting upon which the story revolves, is real and gladly, the book has prompted renewed interest in it. I am happy because I love art.  For those who are so inclined, the novel contains many art references of note.

As I believe this is a stellar novel which requires gradual unfolding, I will keep this review brief and end simply with – you must read it! It is fabulous!

About dianeledet

Professional Writing Consultant, Graduate of DePaul University School for New Learning 2008
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shackles

  1. Letizia says:

    I’ve read a couple of good reviews of this book but, for some odd reason, was wavering. Waver no more – you have convinced me and I will add it to my Christmas wish list!

Leave a Reply

